CONSTANZE 3/4



Johannes Spalt –

architect, researcher, teacher

The inventor of lightness

Johannes Spalt (1920-2010) is among the most striking figures in Austrian architecture and a man who played a pioneering role in its development. In 1952, together with Otto Leitner, Wilhelm Holzbauer and Friedrich Kurrent, he founded Arbeitsgruppe 4 (working group 4). The group came up with pioneering projects that provided key impetus for the decades that followed.

The encounter with Wittmann in 1958 gave Spalt that all-important necessary impetus to focus his attentions more closely on furniture design. Johannes Spalt was more of a draftsman than a designer. His design signature stems from his architectural convictions that construction should be light and transparent. During the war years Spalt studied aircraft engineering. The knowledge that he accumulated during that time shaped him and kindled his interest in gentle, simple constructions.

In furniture making, too, it is only possible to achieve lightness through precise engineering. 1960 saw the creation of Spalt’s “¾ furniture”, his first project with Wittmann. It comprised an armchair, a footstool and a side table. The name is derived from the nickname given to his Arbeitsgruppe 4. After the departure of Otto Leitner, they were affectionately known as “die ¾-ler” (the three quarter-ers). In 1961, the Constanze bench appeared, which could be converted from a seat into a bed using a specially-developed mechanism.

Spalt and Wittmann would go on to forge a partnership lasting decades, during which they would realise countless joint projects. As an innovator, Johannes Spalt was an integral part of the company as it broke new ground. And he led the way in one area: at the end of the 1960s he contacted Carla Hoffmann and played a significant role in the development and execution of the Re-Creation Josef Hoffmann project.

Today, the lines, function and style of the ¾ furniture still appear every bit as modern and in touch with the zeitgeist. Reason enough for Wittmann to let them shine in the context of timeless design, bringing them into the here and now with a subtle update. With unmistakably precise handcrafted detail, an upholstered moulded wood shell sits on top of a shiny chrome aluminium base in the “3/4” armchair. An additional moulded wood shell gives the masterfully deep buttoned seating element extra stability. The positioning of the legs breaks up the compactness of the solid upholstered element – reflecting the lightness that Spalt wished to engender. The armrests give the piece its characteristic form. A footstool cut from the same cloth and a table complete the group.

Spalt wanted to create “intelligent furniture that enables the cultivation of an interior culture”. Wittmann’s goal is to use the new edition of the ¾ furniture to give this philosophy enduring impact.

CONSTANZE 3/4



Johannes Spalt -

Architekt, Forschender, Lehrender

Der Erfinder der Leichtigkeit.

Johannes Spalt (1920-2010) zählte zu den markantesten Persönlichkeiten der österreichischen Architekturszene und hat diese wegweisend mitgeprägt. 1952 schloss er sich mit Otto Leitner, Wilhelm Holzbauer und Friedrich Kurrent zur „Arbeitsgruppe 4“ zusammen. Die Gruppe entwickelte Konzepte, die für die folgenden Jahrzehnte wichtige Impulse lieferten.

Die Begegnung mit Wittmann im Jahr 1958 hat für Spalt den ausschlaggebenden Anstoß gegeben, sich näher mit Möbeldesign zu beschäftigen. Johannes Spalt war mehr Konstrukteur als Designer. Seine Handschrift als Entwerfer rührt von seiner Überzeugung dass Architektur leicht und transparent sein muss. Spalt studierte in den Kriegsjahren Flugzeugbau. Das Wissen, das er dabei erwarb hat ihn geprägt und sein Interesse an zarten, einfachen Konstruktionen geweckt.

Auch im Möbelbau lässt sich Leichtigkeit nur durch präzise durchdachte Konstruktionen erreichen. Im Jahr 1960 entstanden als erstes gemeinsames Projekt mit Wittmann die ¾ Möbel: Ein Sessel, ein Hocker und ein Beistelltisch. Der Name leitet sich vom Spitznamen der Arbeitsgruppe 4 ab, die nach dem Austritt von Otto Leitner charmant „die ¾ - ler“ genannt wurde. 1961 folgte die Constanze Bank, die mit einem eigens entwickelten Mechanismus von einer Sitzbank zu einem Bett verändert werden konnte.

Spalt und Wittmann verband eine jahrzehntelange Zusammenarbeit in der unzählige gemeinsame Projekte realisiert wurden. Johannes Spalt war wegweisender Begleiter des Unternehmens. In einem Bereich auch ein Wegbereiter: Ende der 1960er Jahre stellte er den Kontakt zu Carla Hoffmann her und spielte eine maßgebliche Rolle in der Entwicklung und Umsetzung der Re-Creation Josef Hoffmann.

Heute erscheinen Linienführung, Funktion und Stilistik der ¾ Möbel ungebrochen modern und zeitgeistig. Grund für Wittmann, sie erneut auf die Bühne der zeitlosen Möbeldesigns zu stellen und sie erfrischt ins Hier und Jetzt zu holen. In unverwechselbar präziser handwerklicher Verarbeitung sitzt beim Fauteuil „3/4“ eine verpolsterte Formholzschale auf einem glanzverchromten Aluminiumkreuz. Eine weitere Formholzschale gibt dem meisterhaft versteppten Sitzelement Stabilität. Die Stellung der Beine löst die Kompaktheit des soliden Polsterteils auf – ganz im Sinne der von Spalt erwünschten Leichtigkeit. Die Armlehnen geben dem Möbel seine charakteristische Form. Ein Hocker in derselben Machart und ein Tisch vervollständigen die Gruppe.

Spalt wollte „intelligente Möbel, die eine Wohnkultur ermöglichen“. Mit der Neuauflage der ¾ Möbel möchte Wittmann diesem Leitsatz bleibenden Nachdruck verleihen.